D’Angelo – Voodoo

D'AngeloReleased: 2000
Bought: That’s Entertainment, Manchester, 2012
Rating: 45

I bought this late last year after hearing loads of good things about it, both from friends and online reviews. I’ve never been massively into R&B or soul, but I thought this might be one of those albums that appeals to everyone, regardless of the genre they normally listen to. Unfortunately, I just can’t get into it at all, but I think that’s probably down to my personal taste than there being anything wrong with the album.

Voodoo reminds me a little bit of What’s Going On by Marvin Gaye, in that it’s all quite slow and languid and takes a long time to get anywhere. I know that it’s supposed to be like that, but I think it’s for precisely that reason that I don’t like it. To my ears, this is almost a jazz record, and, as such, I find I admire the playing and the arrangements, but I don’t like the songs very much. If I had to pick a highlight, it would have to be “Untitled (How Does It Feel)”, mainly because it reminds me of Prince.

Maybe this will grow, but I can’t see me giving it much of a chance to do so.

Leave a Reply

