P:ano – Brigadoon

P_anoReleased: 2005
Bought: Piccadilly Records, Manchester, 2008
Rating: 43

I bought this album for £2 in the Piccadilly Records sale in summer 2008 (I know because the sticker’s still on it). £2 is about right.

I don’t really know where to start with Brigadoon. Before doing this, I’d barely ever listened to it, and one of the reasons is because it’s so bitty. There are 22 tracks, of which only four have a running time over three minutes. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with short songs, but songs sometimes need time to develop and grow. As it is, the album sounds like a load of half-baked ideas clumsily thrown together.

I’ve listened to this three or four times now, and I can’t remember a single song. I know there are parts where they sound like The Magnetic Fields (“The Rescuer”) or The Boy Least Likely To (“Heavens”), and there are bits where the man sings and bits where the woman sings (badly and out of tune) and at times it veers off into country, but that’s about it. Oh, and it’s really cloying and twee.

I probably won’t listen to this again.

Leave a Reply

